IPRA 2023 Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowship for women from developing countries

Although significant progress has been made in the pursuit of women’s equality, there is still much work to be done to achieve gender equality in our daily lives and professional environment. It is sad that there are still people who strongly oppose gender equality. To overcome these difficulties, many scholarships are created to provide women with support and opportunities to further their research.

About the Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowship for Women:

The International Peace Research Association (IPRA) awards the Dorothy Marcus Senesh Fellowships to two candidates from developing countries every other year to pursue a degree in the field of peace.

This scholarship was established by the late Larry Senesh, former professor of economics at the University of Colorado, in memory of his late wife, Dorothy. The award consists of $5,000 per year for two years. The IPRA foundation was established in 1990 and is a non-profit organization that benefits from tax exemption. They operate to advance peace research and support peace scholars around the world.

Applications for the Dorothy Marchus Senesh Fellowship in Peace and Development Studies are now open for women from developing countries. Since Dorothy Senesh was a lifelong advocate for peace and justice, she established this fellowship after her death so that her legacy and vision could be carried on by other women.

About the International Peace Research Association (IPRA):

Founded in 1990, the IPRA Foundation is a non-profit organization working to support the International Peace Research Association, which has been actively working to promote international peace since 1965.

Dorothy Marchus Senesh Scholarship Benefits:

The award consists of $10,000 divided equally over 2 years. This amount will be allocated to cover study expenses.

Dorothy Marchus Senesh Scholarship Requirements:

The Dorothy Senesh Scholarship is available to women from developing countries who meet the following criteria:

⦁ Holder of a degree.
⦁ They are admitted to a postgraduate program.
⦁ The applicant’s postgraduate work must fall within IPRA-related topics.

Applications are reviewed on the basis of financial need.

The following are not eligible for this scholarship: male, undergraduate students, citizens of countries that are not part of the Global South.

Application deadline: January 15, 2023

How to apply:

To apply, candidates must provide the following:

⦁ Application in English or Spanish
⦁ Proof of Acceptance to a postgraduate program
⦁ 3 Letters of Recommendation (letters must be emailed by recommenders directly to Ms. Crystal Money.)

Applicants should be sure to email a copy of the application to Administrative Program Assistant, Phillip Armor at: [email protected]

Official webpage:

For more details, we recommend visiting the IPRA website.

Leave a Comment