2023 MMEG Scholarships for Women from Developing Countries

The Margaret McNamara Education Grants (MMEG) program was established in 1981 in memory of Margaret Craig McNamara, a lifelong advocate for improving the lives of underserved women and children.

The MMEG program is an opportunity for women from countries in the Global South to receive grants that will allow them to pursue higher education and improve their leadership in order to have a positive impact on the situation of women and children in their countries of origin. . The grant consists of approximately $15,000 and is awarded to women from countries in the Global South who vow, after graduation, to return to developing countries and work to improve the lives of women and children there.

MMEG is a non-profit, philanthropic organization established in 1981 that provides educational scholarships to outstanding candidates from developing countries seeking to further their education in the USA, Canada and certain universities in South Africa and Latin America. So far, MMEG has helped 416 women from over 75 countries.

Eligibility Requirements for MMEG Scholarships:

To be considered for the MMEG, applicants must meet the following criteria:

⦁ Be at least 25 years old by the application deadline
⦁ Be a citizen of one of the MMEG eligible countries
⦁ Be enrolled at an accredited university in the US, Canada, South Africa, or Latin America by the application deadline and intend to remain enrolled for a full academic term after receiving the scholarship.
⦁ Not be the spouse or family member of someone who works for the World Bank Group, the Inter-America Development Bank, or the International Monetary Fund.
Applicants who meet the criteria listed above must also:
⦁ be enrolled at the university and have a student visa as well as intend to continue their studies in the following year, studies must be full-time;
⦁ not be a US citizen or permanent resident, nor a Canadian citizen or holder of Canadian immigrant status.


Applications for this program open on 15 September and close on 15 January. The results are announced in April. Award winners will be notified.
For more information, applicants can send an email to [email protected]

How to apply:

Applicants are encouraged to review the application checklist and FAQs before beginning the application process. The application process begins after your registration. Make sure you select “US-Canada Program”.

Application deadline: January 15, 2023

Official webpage:

For more details, visit the official website:

Source: baboonbum.com

Leave a Comment